

## **Zachary Taylor Parkway Commission**

## **MINUTES**

Quarterly Commission Meeting Oakley State Park, St. Francisville, LA October 9, 2024

Present

AJ Roy, Avoyelles Parish J.R. Rouchon, East Feliciana Parish Toni Melton, St. Helena Parish Sharonda Brown, St. Helena Parish Patrick Witty, Pointe Coupee Parish Louis Hebert, Pointe Coupee Parish Patty Alford, Washington Parish Roderick Matthews, St. Helena Parish Martin Macdiarmid, East Feliciana Parish Maggie Guillory, ZTP Management Team Julie Fuselier, ZTP Management Team Rangle Pittman, Tangipahoa Parish Buck Vandersteen, Rapides Parish Joe Thomas, Tangipahoa Parish Melvin Harvey, West Feliciana Parish Wilbert Carmouche, Avoyelles Parish Corey Roblin, Avoyelles Parish Devan Corbello, West Feliciana Parish Tourism Diane Rouchon, Guest Ronald Harrell, Kentwood Chamber of Commerce

Absent

Ronnie Jett, East Feliciana Parish Randy DeCuir, Avoyelles Parish Carlos Mayeux, Avoyelles Parish Gen. Ron McGlothlin, Washington Parish Jack Daughtry, Rapides Parish Sharonda Brown, St. Helena Parish Jack Daughtry, Rapides Parish Ron Roe, Rapides Parish Russell Wilson, Rapides Parish

A.J. Roy, III of Avoyelles Parish called the Quarterly Meeting of the Zachary Taylor Parkway Commission to order at 10:07 AM on October 9, 2024, in St. Francisville, LA.

Martin Macdiarmid called roll and a quorum was recognized.

Rep. Roy Daryl Adams, LA House of Representatives

Christian Mongel, Guest

Devan Corbello, Executive Director of West Feliciana Parish Tourist Commission, spoke about tourism trends and initiatives within the parish.

Mr. Roy proposed consideration of the July 10, 2024, board meeting minutes. Buck Vandersteen made a motion to approve July 10, 2024, minutes. Mr. Macdiarmid seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.



Mr. Witty reviewed the treasurer's report. He reported the Commission would receive a legislative appropriation of \$100,000. He also reported that the bank balance as of September 30, 2024, was \$10,277.

Mr. Roy provided the chairman's report. He thanked everyone for attending and reported that exciting things are happening for the commission. He thanked the leadership team for their efforts and reviewed the strategic goals.

Mr. Vandersteen provided the legislative appropriation status report. He reported that the commission was successful in securing funding through the legislature for 2024-2025, but that does not eliminate challenges moving forward. He noted that the commission will continue to have a constant request for funding in the future.

Mr. Roy reported on the proposed budget. Patty Alford made a motion to allow the executive committee to adopt the budget for the appropriation in 2024-2025. Roderick Matthews seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously. He noted that the budget will be presented at the January 8<sup>th</sup> meeting in Tangipahoa Parish.

Julie Fuselier provided the executive director's report. She reported that the team met with Rachel Milam, Grants & Special Projects Director for Congresswoman Julia Letlow. Ms. Fuselier explained that Ms. Milam will assist in preparing the Commission to be grant ready in the future. Ms. Fuselier noted that there is no report for the military history byway.

Mr. Roy announced that the next meeting will be held in Tangipahoa Parish on January 8, 2025.

Mr. Witty made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Mrs. Alford seconded the motion. Mr. Roy adjourned the meeting at 11:02 AM.