

Zachary Taylor Parkway Commission

MINUTES

Quarterly Commission Meeting Multipurpose Center at St. Helena Parish July 10, 2024

Present

AJ Roy, Avoyelles Parish
J.R. Rouchon, East Feliciana Parish
Toni Melton, St. Helena Parish
Sharonda Brown, St. Helena Parish
Patrick Witty, Pointe Coupee Parish
Louis Hebert, Pointe Coupee Parish
Patty Alford, Washington Parish
Roderick Matthews, St. Helena Parish
Martin Macdiarmid, East Feliciana Parish
Maggie Guillory, ZTP Management Team
Julie Fuselier, ZTP Management Team
Rangle Pittman, Tangipahoa Parish
Gen. Ron McGlothlin, Washington Parish

Representative Adams, LA House of Representatives Karen Day White, Office of Rural Development

Major Coleman, Office of Rural Development Cabell Mouton, Keep Louisiana Beautiful

Virginia Bell, St. Helena Parish School District

Deeneaus Polk, Economic Recovery Corporation

Brannon Barnes, Road Superintendent

Roxanne Williams, Housekeeper

Dana Harris, RBM Secretary

Angelica Robertson, St. Helena Parish Police Jury

Debra Butler, Housekeeper

Clay Chutz, St. Helena Parish Sheriff

Absent

Melvin Harvey, West Feliciana Parish Randy DeCuir, Avoyelles Parish Carlos Mayeux, Avoyelles Parish Wilbert Carmouche, Avoyelles Parish Buck Vandersteen, Rapides Parish Joe Thomas, Tangipahoa Parish Jack Daughtry, Rapides Parish Ron Roe, Rapides Parish Russell Wilson, Rapides Parish Ronnie Jett, East Feliciana Parish AP Guillory, Rapides Parish Jack Daughtry, Rapides Parish

A.J. Roy, III of Avoyelles Parish called the Quarterly Meeting of the Zachary Taylor Parkway Commission to order at 10:11 AM on July 10, 2024, in Amite, LA.

Martin Macdiarmid called roll and a quorum was recognized.

Representative Daryl Adams, Louisiana House of Representatives, gave a legislative update about the previous legislative session.



Karen Day White, Director of the Office of Rural Development/Governor's Designee to Delta Regional Authority, Office of Governor Jeff Landry, gave a presentation on Louisiana's tourism, regional projects, and how to effectively use and access state funds.

Mr. Roy administered the official swearing in oath of office of Patty Alford of Washington Parish, Sharonda Brown of St. Helena Parish, Roderick Matthews of St. Helena Parish, and Rangle Pittman of Tangipahoa Parish to serve two-year terms on the Zachary Taylor Parkway Board of Commissioners.

Mr. Roy proposed consideration of the January 10, 2024, board meeting minutes. Pat Witty made a motion to approve the January 10, 2024, minutes. Roderick Matthews seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

Mr. Witty reviewed the treasurer's report. He reported the Commission would be receiving a legislative appropriation of \$100,000. He also reported that the bank balance as of March 31, 2024, was \$14,798.

Mr. Roy provided the chairman's report. He thanked everyone for attending and reported to the group that the Commission was awarded a legislative appropriation.

Mr. Roy asked the board to consider a resolution to execute the cooperative endeavor agreement for the legislative appropriation forthcoming. Mr. Roy read the resolution aloud to the board.

Resolved, that A.J. Roy, Chairman of the Zachary Taylor Parkway Commission, be, and he is hereby, authorized for and on behalf of the said Commission to:

- 1. To execute one or more cooperative endeavor agreements with officers, departments and/or agencies of the State of Louisiana in compliance with applicable statutes and Executive Orders and in conformity with any Cooperative Endeavor Agreement Format (and the accompanying Guidelines) that has been or may be issued by the Office of Contractual Review of the Division of Administration or by any other appropriate agency of State Government,
- 2. By his signature, to enter into any and all contractual obligations on behalf of the Commission relating to the appropriation for the Commission contained in Legislative Acts of the 2024 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature, and
- 3. To take such additional actions as are necessary or appropriate in connection with obtaining from the State of Louisiana, its officers, departments, or agencies the funds appropriated by the Louisiana Legislature for the Commission in the above referenced Acts of the Legislature.

I hereby certify that the above and foregoing resolution was duly adopted by the Zachary Taylor Parkway Commission at a regular meeting of the Commission held in Amite, Louisiana on July 10, 2024, at which a quorum was present.

Mr. Witty made the motion to approve the resolution. Mr. Macdiarmid seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

Julie Fuselier reported that the appropriation funds for this year will focus on education and marketing. Ms. Fuselier gave a brief overview of the military byway and the obstacles that the byway is currently



facing due to its military designation. She reported that she will schedule a meeting with Sharon Calcote, Louisiana Byways & Trails Director to discuss consistent funding and other concerns.

Mr. Roy announced that the next meeting will be held in West Feliciana Parish on October 9, 2024.

Mr. Macdiarmid made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Mr. Witty seconded the motion. Mr. Roy adjourned the meeting at 11:15 AM.